Construction of the Stupa

Estupas_-_Mente_IluminadaA Tibetan stupa is called “Chorten” and translates as “the offering’s foundation.”

This construction is a spiritual monument that is the symbol of the enlightened mind and the path that leads to its realization.

The Stupa represents the body, speech and mind of Buddha, and consists essentially of five parts:

  1. A square base
  2. A hemispherical dome
  3. A conical tip
  4. A crescent moon
  5. A round disk

Each of these components corresponds to one of the five cosmic elements (earth, water, fire, air and space).

“The Stupa generates a visual impact that allows the observer to have a direct experience of awakening. The Stupas are still built today for its ability to liberate the observer simply upon seeing their structure.”Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche